top of page

Market Days

The fundamental elements of the Igbo lunar calendar are the four market days: Eke, Orie (also known as "Oye"), Afo (also known as "Avo" and "Aho") and Nkwo. These four market days represent cosmic entities and the four cardinal directions of the earth in addition to being designated days on which communities are allowed to open their markets. The tradition Igbo year (afo/avo/aho) consists of thirteen months known as "onwa" (which literally means "moon") and has twenty-eight days (ubochi/izu/mbosi/ehi/eshi) in each month. Each month has seven weeks (izu ahia/afia/avia) and each week has four market days.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page